Bug found / Suggestion

Report problems on the Megajolt firmware and PC software

Moderators: JeffC, rdoherty, stieg, brentp

Darren Brightman

Bug found / Suggestion

Post by Darren Brightman »

I recently took my Zetec powered Caterham with Megajolt to a well know and respected rolling road , he was slightly dissapointed when we tried to set up the car we found.

1) The live tunning didn't work properly , as even if we held the revs / load exactley on a site it would alter the wrong site
making setup very very hard. We eventually found that you have to hold revs and load just above the threshold for it to
alter the correct site. e.g The software doesn't alter the nearest site but the next one down.

2) He suggested more points would be helpful e.g 16x16 which he tells me is standard on some of the more expensive systems.

3) He also thought the live display didn't show the interpolated advance.

( If I can be of any furthe help please let me know , I am a software engineer by trade and very familiar with C++, if I can help )

MartinM

Post by MartinM »

Hi Darren, welcome!

All the reports I've had given to me about RR experiences have been very positive and when I've been at a RR tuning various engines with MJLJs, we've had no problems at all

1. Can't comment - never used live updating. You could have changed the bin you wanted and sent the whole map to the MJLJ as that would definitely have updated the bin you changed. But of course this needs looking into and I'm sure Brent will do so

2. Maybe. Or maybe 16x16 is just a gimmick/sales aid as engines don't actually need an ignition map at that resolution given the interpolation that the MJLJ does between adjacent bins. Do the "expensive systems" have 16x16 AND interpolation? Genuine question by the way, I'm not trying to be defensive about the MJLJ...