Applications

General Q&A specific to RaceCapture/Pro. For app related questions post in the RaceCapture App forum. also see the <a href="http://www.autosportlabs.net/RaceCapture">RaceCapture Information Page</a>

Moderators: JeffC, rdoherty, stieg, brentp

Post Reply
cooper2006
Posts: 20
Joined: Mon Dec 01, 2014 1:00 pm

Applications

Post by cooper2006 »

Has anyone tried to use this in a dirt track racing environment? I am wondering how well it will hold up against the dust and vibration.

brentp
Site Admin
Posts: 5956
Joined: Wed Jan 24, 2007 6:36 am

Post by brentp »

Hi,

RaceCapture/Pro was not designed to be waterproof and completely dust proof.

For harsh environments we recommend placing the RaceCapture/Pro unit in a sealed enclosure - that's what some customers do for harsh environments.

Regards,
Brent Picasso
CEO and Founder, Autosport Labs
Facebook | Twitter

cooper2006
Posts: 20
Joined: Mon Dec 01, 2014 1:00 pm

Follow up

Post by cooper2006 »

Just thought I would do a followup to this post. We had our first race this past weekend where we used the MK2 system in a dirt track environment. We taped all the ports with duct tape, and everything seemed to work well with no issues. We were able to get a lot of useful information. The system actually helped us quickly diagnose a shock setting that was not correct.

brentp
Site Admin
Posts: 5956
Joined: Wed Jan 24, 2007 6:36 am

Post by brentp »

Thank you for the update, we'd love to hear more about it.

Putting the unit in a sealed container can help as well, so you don't have to deal with duct tape - Even a food storage container can work well.

Got some pictures of the car and setup?
Brent Picasso
CEO and Founder, Autosport Labs
Facebook | Twitter

Post Reply