Lag in value measurement

General Q&A specific to RaceCapture/Pro. For app related questions post in the RaceCapture App forum. also see the <a href="http://www.autosportlabs.net/RaceCapture">RaceCapture Information Page</a>

Moderators: JeffC, rdoherty, stieg, brentp

Post Reply
maheshwarrank
Posts: 23
Joined: Thu May 19, 2016 9:31 am

Lag in value measurement

Post by maheshwarrank »

Sir,

The roll,pitch and yaw values are not changing instantaneously when I plug in RaceCapture Pro to my PC and shake it. There is always some lag before the value begins to change and the lag keeps occuring at repeatedly during the motion of the RCP. Please suggest any fixes to remove this bug.

brentp
Site Admin
Posts: 5956
Joined: Wed Jan 24, 2007 6:36 am

Post by brentp »

Hi,

The update rate on the dashboard screen should be very responsive when plugged into the computer. Do you also see this effect when communicating over bluetooth on the Android app?

Also, please let us know the model of the computer and what operating system version you are running.

Finally, do you see this also happen on a different computer, as an example?
Brent Picasso
CEO and Founder, Autosport Labs
Facebook | Twitter

maheshwarrank
Posts: 23
Joined: Thu May 19, 2016 9:31 am

Post by maheshwarrank »

Sir,

I use Macbook Air and my OS is OS X Yosemite. This problem stills persists when I change the OS to Windows 10. But I dont see this effect on my Android phone.

brentp
Site Admin
Posts: 5956
Joined: Wed Jan 24, 2007 6:36 am

Post by brentp »

Hi,

Thanks for the update. Let's narrow this down.

If you go into the Configuration section while connected to RCP, and then try to read the configuration, does it read the configuration relatively quickly - within 1 - 2 seconds, or does it take a great deal of time to read it? This will help understand where the slowness is occurring.

Good to know that on Android you don't see the same behavior.
Brent Picasso
CEO and Founder, Autosport Labs
Facebook | Twitter

maheshwarrank
Posts: 23
Joined: Thu May 19, 2016 9:31 am

Post by maheshwarrank »

Sir,

It takes 5-6 seconds to read the configuration of the RCP.

brentp
Site Admin
Posts: 5956
Joined: Wed Jan 24, 2007 6:36 am

Post by brentp »

Thank you. What firmware version are you running on the RaceCapture/Pro ?

Also, on android, how fast does it take to read the same configuration?
Brent Picasso
CEO and Founder, Autosport Labs
Facebook | Twitter

maheshwarrank
Posts: 23
Joined: Thu May 19, 2016 9:31 am

Post by maheshwarrank »

Im using Firmware version 2.9.1..Its quicker in Android around 1-2 seconds..

brentp
Site Admin
Posts: 5956
Joined: Wed Jan 24, 2007 6:36 am

Post by brentp »

Hi,

Can you try backing up your configuration, and falling back to firmware 2.8.7 as a test? Just as a comparison.
Brent Picasso
CEO and Founder, Autosport Labs
Facebook | Twitter

maheshwarrank
Posts: 23
Joined: Thu May 19, 2016 9:31 am

Post by maheshwarrank »

I tried it sir. There is still lag.

brentp
Site Admin
Posts: 5956
Joined: Wed Jan 24, 2007 6:36 am

Post by brentp »

Hi, could you try configuring the round gauges on the dashboard similar to this video and test it on android? Do you see similar performance?

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ByPJgSU7klE

Just trying to narrow down where the slowdown is occurring. Thanks!
Brent Picasso
CEO and Founder, Autosport Labs
Facebook | Twitter

Post Reply