Controlling the Replay xd1080

General Q&A specific to RaceCapture/Pro. For app related questions post in the RaceCapture App forum. also see the <a href="http://www.autosportlabs.net/RaceCapture">RaceCapture Information Page</a>

Moderators: JeffC, rdoherty, stieg, brentp

Post Reply
mrldcty
Posts: 27
Joined: Tue Jan 08, 2013 1:26 am

Controlling the Replay xd1080

Post by mrldcty »

The Replay xd1080 video camera has a feature that will turn it on and start recording whenever external power is applied. I'd like to control it using my RCP MKII, but the camera requires 5V and (I think) 500mA or above. I think this rules out the analog outputs which provide only 50mA (right?).

Has anyone used this camera controlled by the RCP yet? I think what I'm going to have to do is use one of these: https://www.amazon.com/Converter-Module ... pldnSite=1.

Then switch it using the RCP... but I haven't yet found the right type of "digitally controlled switch".

Would appreciate any pointers! I imagine there is a switch out there that can be driven by the GPIO channels... I just don't know what they are called! LOL

EDIT: Hey... they are called Solid State Relays! :) https://www.electronics-tutorials.ws/po ... relay.html

So, unless someone has a simpler idea... looks like I'm after a relay and a bucking converter...

EDIT 2: I love having a conversation with myself! LOL... OK, I just re-read the RPC hardware spec... I think the GPIO channels are the relay. I just need to connect the neg side of the converter input to a GPIO channel and the positive side to a 12V hot wire.
Spec Racer Ford #40

mrldcty
Posts: 27
Joined: Tue Jan 08, 2013 1:26 am

Post by mrldcty »

Tried a simple test today. Hooked up a VOM to a Gpio channel configured as output. When I set that channel to "1", I indeed get the expected 12V... but when I set it to "0", I still get about 7V... according to the docs, it should be an open circuit... why do I still see voltage?
Spec Racer Ford #40

brentp
Site Admin
Posts: 5956
Joined: Wed Jan 24, 2007 6:36 am

Post by brentp »

Hi,

There's a weak pullup on the outputs. But you should be able to use the GPIO to control the ground on a small relay that's driven off of the 5v output - try that to see if it works.
Brent Picasso
CEO and Founder, Autosport Labs
Facebook | Twitter

mrldcty
Posts: 27
Joined: Tue Jan 08, 2013 1:26 am

Post by mrldcty »

UPDATE: I have a simple setup where two replay xd1080 cameras are powered by the 5v reference output with the grounds going through two of the GPIO channels. I have tested that on the car in my shop and it seems to work like a charm. Have not tried it on the track yet, but I don't see why it would have any issues if it works in the shop.

Thanks for the help on this Brent!
Spec Racer Ford #40

Post Reply