AEM wideband O2 sensor to MK3 via CAN

General Q&A specific to RaceCapture/Pro. For app related questions post in the RaceCapture App forum. also see the <a href="http://www.autosportlabs.net/RaceCapture">RaceCapture Information Page</a>

Moderators: JeffC, rdoherty, stieg, brentp

Post Reply
ProtoTim35
Posts: 79
Joined: Fri Jun 22, 2018 2:14 am

AEM wideband O2 sensor to MK3 via CAN

Post by ProtoTim35 »

I have an AEM P/N 30-0310 wideband O2 controller with Bosch LSU4.9 sensor. I think I can figure out how to hook it up with analog, but am hoping to hook it up via CAN. There is some info for hooking it up via CAN, but I can't make much of it. It looks like it's pretty much all geared toward hooking it up to the AEM data logger with mostly automated setup if doing CAN. The wiring isn't an issue, it's the set-up.

I'm sort of surprised there isn't a selection for the Bosch wideband sensor in the setup options for the MK3 since the Bosch LSU4.9 sensor seems to be the most popular. I suppose that might be because each controller is different - not just the sensor, but not sure.

At any rate, if anyone can help with this I would greatly appreciate it. The folks at AEM haven't even been able to tell me how to find the ID of the unit to plug in, so that the MK3 can communicate with it (they say it's all done automatically in the AEM data logger). They seem to be at more of a loss than I am on the settings. There is a fair bit of info in some tables, but I don't know what to do with it.

If all else fails, I'll hook it up via analog, but I would prefer to do it via CAN, to leave my analog ports available.

Thanks for any help.

brentp
Site Admin
Posts: 5956
Joined: Wed Jan 24, 2007 6:36 am

Post by brentp »

Hi,

If it provides a CAN bus output, then it should work - can you get them to provide the CAN bus protocol documentation? If so, we can look at it to create a mapping. Agree it would be the best way to go, in order to save an analog input.

When asking AEM, just ask for the "CAN bus protocol documentation for the 30-0310" - if they can provide this doc we can help with the rest.
Brent Picasso
CEO and Founder, Autosport Labs
Facebook | Twitter

ferg
Posts: 36
Joined: Mon Dec 03, 2018 7:56 pm
Location: Paso Robles, California
Contact:

Post by ferg »

The documentation for the 30-0310 has the necessary CAN info:

https://www.aemelectronics.com/files/in ... roller.pdf

Note it uses 29-bit identifiers, and a 500 Kbit/sec baud rate for the standard model, or 1Mbit/sec for the 30-0310N (Nascar) version.

David Ferguson
Veracity Racing Data

sti_hacker
Posts: 1
Joined: Sat Feb 02, 2019 1:13 am
Location: Austin, TX

AEMNET Definitions

Post by sti_hacker »

Did anyone ever use the AEMNET canbus info to make definitions, particularly for the X Series gauges? I've got a 0-100psi pressure gauge, EGT gauge, UEGO wideband gauge, and oil temp gauge to hook in. I'd like to use canbus vs 0-5v for all of these as well. I'm planning to hook everything up tomorrow and see what I can find on the network.

The canbus info for AEMNET can be found here: https://www.aemelectronics.com/files/pd ... Public.pdf

It contains all info for the AEMNET definitions. Also, is there any other info I can provide to get this working?

Thanks!

brentp
Site Admin
Posts: 5956
Joined: Wed Jan 24, 2007 6:36 am

Post by brentp »

Hi, it is fairly easy to create your own CAN mapping; we have it documented here.
https://wiki.autosportlabs.com/CAN_Bus_Integration

When you get it working, please send us your config and we'll include it in the list of presets. Thanks!
Brent Picasso
CEO and Founder, Autosport Labs
Facebook | Twitter

Post Reply