PodiumConnect + MyChron 5

General Q&A specific to RaceCapture/Pro. For app related questions post in the RaceCapture App forum. also see the <a href="http://www.autosportlabs.net/RaceCapture">RaceCapture Information Page</a>

Moderators: JeffC, rdoherty, stieg, brentp

Post Reply
gus_grm
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Oct 24, 2018 12:07 am

PodiumConnect + MyChron 5

Post by gus_grm »

I am trying to connect a podiumconnect to a mychron 5 but I am having several issues. One of them being that the telemetry does not seem to work. Has anyone tried connecting the two together? If so, could you please shed some light on the process?

brentp
Site Admin
Posts: 5956
Joined: Wed Jan 24, 2007 6:36 am

Post by brentp »

Hi,

We have tested the MyChron5 with PodiumConnect and confirmed it does work. However, PodiumConnect cannot be powered by the MyChron battery alone; the whole system needs 12v power to work correctly.

You can also test the PodiumConnect on the bench just with a USB power connection, from your computer - without first needing to be connected to your Mychron5. It will show connected, just with no sensor data changing, as expected.

You can go through the steps here: https://wiki.autosportlabs.com/RaceCapt ... _telemetry

..and verify your cellular setup and connectivity.

Let us know what you find out after additional testing.

Thank you,
Brent Picasso
CEO and Founder, Autosport Labs
Facebook | Twitter

BrettC
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Oct 17, 2019 12:36 am

Post by BrettC »

Thought about creating a new post but since this one only has minimal information I figured I'd just add on.

Helping set up my team's PodiumConnect. We've had some success so far but could use help with some of the details.

Using a Mychron5 2T with channel expansion and data hub connected to PodConn. Both temp sensors that feed directly into the AIM unit are being used (1 Thermistor for coolant and 1 TC for "head temp" – being used for oil temp but configured on the AIM device as head temp). On the expansion block there are three analog sensors (TPS - potentiometer, Steering - potentiometer, brake pressure). All channels are displayed as expected when looking at PodConn except one temp channel. The head temp channel is not showing up on the app. When an additional thermistor type sensor is connected to the channel expansion block, still only the original coolant temp is available on the app.

Is the Mychron5 not sending all the data over CAN? Is there a way to find out besides the testing we've done? We haven't figured out a way to configure what channels to export like in the How To. When you got things working with the MyChron5, did you use the same CAN mappings that are currently in the SmartyCam preset (which is what we're using)?

Thanks!

brentp
Site Admin
Posts: 5956
Joined: Wed Jan 24, 2007 6:36 am

Post by brentp »

The key to integration is leveraging the smartycam channels that the mychron will emit over CAN bus. In other words, if smartycam can pick up the data, then we should as well.

Often people will repurpose smartycam channels for other purposes; example, they would rename EGT into brake pressure.

In our mapping, the default smartycam channel names are used; if you re-purpose an existing channel, them you can match that up with the channel in our CAN mapping.

Hope this helps get you in the right direction! Let us know what you find out.
Brent Picasso
CEO and Founder, Autosport Labs
Facebook | Twitter

BrettC
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Oct 17, 2019 12:36 am

Post by BrettC »

The Mychron5 is configured to display our oil temp sensor as head temp. Yet we do not see any data from the head temp CAN mapping (as is/unaltered from SmartyCam presets) on PodConn. We aren't sure what else to do or try.

EDIT: And to clarify, we do see oil temp sensor data displayed as head temp when looking at the device.

brentp
Site Admin
Posts: 5956
Joined: Wed Jan 24, 2007 6:36 am

Post by brentp »

thanks for the update. Can you post screenshots of the race studio configuration for those channels and the corresponding screenshot for the CAN mappings for the PodiumConnect?
Brent Picasso
CEO and Founder, Autosport Labs
Facebook | Twitter

Post Reply