How do I connect OBDII cable?

Race Capture Pro hardware installation- power, wiring, physical installation, etc. See the dedicated forum for Sensor related topics

Moderators: JeffC, rdoherty, stieg, brentp

kai

How do I connect OBDII cable?

Post by kai »

I am new to this, and just got the RaceCapture/Pro 2. I am trying to connect the OBDII-RJ45 cable to it. The cable does power the RaceCapture Pro through OBDII, and correctly shows the voltage is > 14 volts. But all the CAN channel I try to add, such as RPM, Engine Temperature is 0. Do I need to get a CANx unit to plug in between OBDII-RJ45 cable and RaceCapturePro2 RJ45 socket?

Greatly appreciated!!

JMcDonough

Post by JMcDonough »

All you should need to do hardware-wise is plug the cable into the car and the RCP.

For RPM, did you write a script to read the correct CAN message for RPM on your car?

Did you try using the built in OBDII PID functionality instead?

What year, make, and model car?
Josh

kai

Post by kai »

Thanks for your reply! I am trying to use the built-in function from RaceCapture App like this:
http://www.autosportlabs.net/RaceCapturePro2_OBD2

I tried to add RPM, Engine temperature... etc, and they are all 0, despite I have engine running and can see the RPM is not zero.

My car is 2013 Mercedes C250.

What could be wrong? Is there a boot up sequence (like I need to start the car first before start computer), or it should just plugin and play? Thank you SO MUCH for your help!

JMcDonough

Post by JMcDonough »

Did you write the changes to the unit after you added the signals? (bottom left corner of the app, arrow pointing at the device)

After you write the update, you'll have to reboot the RCP for the changes to take effect. Sometimes I also have to close the app to get the new signals to show up on the dashboard.

Hope this helps!
Josh

kai

Post by kai »

Yes I rebooted several times, I have the new signal RPM show up in the dashboard, but it is constantly 0.