GPS Failing to initialize

Race Capture Pro hardware installation- power, wiring, physical installation, etc. See the dedicated forum for Sensor related topics

Moderators: JeffC, rdoherty, stieg, brentp

Post Reply
wrightw
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Nov 06, 2015 5:41 pm

GPS Failing to initialize

Post by wrightw »

I'm having problems with the GPS in my RaceCapture/Pro MK2 device. I'm running firmware version 2.8.5 and I have attached the logfile with the problem. Should note that this there is no added script and have tried using both USB and/or aux 12V power source.

GPS: provisioning attempt
GPS: probing baud rate: 921600
GPS: probing baud rate: 9600
GPS: Error: could not detect GPS module on known baud rates
GPS: timeout

Has anyone else encountered something similar?

brentp
Site Admin
Posts: 5956
Joined: Wed Jan 24, 2007 6:36 am

Post by brentp »

Hi Will,

Sorry we missed this.

Assuming you have GPS connected to the bottom Antenna connection (next to the SD card slot) - and you have it in clear view of sky for several minutes, what do you see under the system status page of the app?

In the app, click Menu, then, System Status, then select the GPS section.
Brent Picasso
CEO and Founder, Autosport Labs
Facebook | Twitter

wrightw
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Nov 06, 2015 5:41 pm

Post by wrightw »

Hi Brent,

No problem - I have have long cable to external antenna module connected to the bottom most antenna port between the USB and SD Card Slot. I booted the restarted the device outside (it's a clear day here in Vancouver as well). The GPS status LED is not on or flashing. The GPS System Status shows:

Status - Error initializing
GPS Quality - No fix
Location - 0.0,0.0
Satellites - 0
Dilution of precision - 0

brentp
Site Admin
Posts: 5956
Joined: Wed Jan 24, 2007 6:36 am

Post by brentp »

Hi Will,

Can you try it without the extension?

-Brent

wrightw
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Nov 06, 2015 5:41 pm

Post by wrightw »

Hi Brent,

I just tried without the extension (outside) with no success. I have also experimented with different sample rates with no change.

Something I have noticed is when I plug the device in, the GPS Status changes from "Not initialized" to "Error initializing"

brentp
Site Admin
Posts: 5956
Joined: Wed Jan 24, 2007 6:36 am

Post by brentp »

Hi Will,

I see you gathered some logfile information. Can you let it run for a bit longer (get a longer log file) and then please email it to us?

thanks.
Brent Picasso
CEO and Founder, Autosport Labs
Facebook | Twitter

stieg
Posts: 100
Joined: Fri Dec 20, 2013 1:37 am
Location: Madison, WI
Contact:

Post by stieg »

In my brief testing I see the same logger message, but it gets the GPS unit on the second try. Here is my log output:

Code: Select all

GPS: provisioning attempt
GPS: probing baud rate: 921600
BT: Provision win
BT: Init complete
GPS: probing baud rate: 9600
GPS: Error: could not detect GPS module on known baud rates
GPS: timeout
GPS: provisioning attempt
GPS: probing baud rate: 921600
GPS: module detected at: 921600
GPS: detected current update rate: 1
GPS: Configuring update rate to 10: win
GPS: Configuring NMEA messages: win
GPS: configure message type: win
GPS: configure navigation data message interval: win
GPS: Configuring Gnss Navigation Mode: win
GPS: Disable NMEA messages: win
GPS: provisioned
Andrew Stiegmann (Stieg)
Principal Engineer
Autosport Labs Inc.

NHolden
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Dec 12, 2015 11:12 am
Location: United Kingdom

Same GPS problem

Post by NHolden »

Hi,

I'm having a similar GPS problem. Same RaceCapturePro Mk2 hardware and same firmware 2.8.5

My GPS says it has initialized but it does not get a lock (after 20 minutes of waiting). The location I am in should get GPS lock fine. I have other motorsport GPS devices and they get a lock fine.

The GPS status light flashes once every 5 seconds. From the quick start guide, it looks like it should pulse slowly when searching and the flash quickly when it has a lock (like the telemetry light I guess), so I'm not sure what one flash every 5 seconds means.

Here is my log file with Bluetooth enabled....

*** Start! ***
CAN0 init @ 1000000 win
CAN1 init @ 500000 win
IMU: init res=0
Start OBD2 task
timebase/logging/telemetry sample rate: 50/25/10
lua: Initializing...
lua: Loading lua script (len = 21): SUCCESS!
lua: memory usage: 7KB
BT: Probing baud 115200
GPS: provisioning attempt
GPS: probing baud rate: 921600
BT: Provision win
BT: Init complete
GPS: probing baud rate: 9600
GPS: module detected at: 9600
GPS: Configuring baud rate to: 921600
fail
GPS: Error: could not configure baud rate
GPS: provisioning attempt
GPS: probing baud rate: 921600
GPS: module detected at: 921600
GPS: Error: could not detect update rate
GPS: Configuring update rate to 10: fail
GPS: Error: could not configure update rate
GPS: provisioning attempt
GPS: probing baud rate: 921600
GPS: module detected at: 921600
GPS: detected current update rate: 10
GPS: Configuring NMEA messages: win
GPS: configure message type: win
GPS: configure navigation data message interval: win
GPS: Configuring Gnss Navigation Mode: win
GPS: Disable NMEA messages: win
GPS: provisioned
Logging started
fileWriter.c: Start
fileWriter.c: Opening log file
fileWriter.c: Opened rc_1.log
GPS: timeout
GPS: provisioning attempt
GPS: probing baud rate: 921600
GPS: module detected at: 921600
GPS: detected current update rate: 10
GPS: Configuring NMEA messages: win
GPS: configure message type: win
GPS: configure navigation data message interval: win
GPS: Configuring Gnss Navigation Mode: win
GPS: Disable NMEA messages: win
GPS: provisioned
GPS: timeout
GPS: provisioning attempt
GPS: probing baud rate: 921600
GPS: module detected at: 921600
GPS: detected current update rate: 10
GPS: Configuring NMEA messages: win
GPS: configure message type: win
GPS: configure navigation data message interval: win
GPS: Configuring Gnss Navigation Mode: win
GPS: Disable NMEA messages: win
GPS: provisioned
GPS: timeout
GPS: provisioning attempt
GPS: probing baud rate: 921600
GPS: module detected at: 921600
GPS: detected current update rate: 10
GPS: Configuring NMEA messages: win
GPS: configure message type: win
GPS: configure navigation data message interval: win
GPS: Configuring Gnss Navigation Mode: win
GPS: Disable NMEA messages: win
GPS: provisioned
cell: network configured
cell: server connected
cell: server authenticated
fileWriter.c: flush
fileWriter.c: flush
fileWriter.c: flush
Telemetry: rx: {"hb":1}
fileWriter.c: flush
fileWriter.c: flush
fileWriter.c: flush
fileWriter.c: flush
fileWriter.c: flush
Telemetry: rx: {"hb":1}
fileWriter.c: flush
fileWriter.c: flush
fileWriter.c: flush


Just to try, I have tried it with Bluetooth disabled..... here is the log.


*** Start! ***
CAN0 init @ 1000000 win
CAN1 init @ 500000 win
IMU: init res=0
Start OBD2 task
timebase/logging/telemetry sample rate: 50/25/10
lua: Initializing...
lua: Loading lua script (len = 21): SUCCESS!
lua: memory usage: 7KB
GPS: provisioning attempt
GPS: probing baud rate: 921600
GPS: probing baud rate: 9600
GPS: module detected at: 9600
GPS: Configuring baud rate to: 921600
fail
GPS: Error: could not configure baud rate
GPS: provisioning attempt
GPS: probing baud rate: 921600
GPS: module detected at: 921600
GPS: Error: could not detect update rate
GPS: Configuring update rate to 10: fail
GPS: Error: could not configure update rate
GPS: provisioning attempt
GPS: probing baud rate: 921600
GPS: module detected at: 921600
GPS: detected current update rate: 10
GPS: Configuring NMEA messages: win
GPS: configure message type: win
GPS: configure navigation data message interval: win
GPS: Configuring Gnss Navigation Mode: win
GPS: Disable NMEA messages: win
GPS: provisioned
cell: network configured
cell: server connected
cell: server authenticated


Any suggestions??

Thanks,

Nick

brentp
Site Admin
Posts: 5956
Joined: Wed Jan 24, 2007 6:36 am

Post by brentp »

Normally the GPS may take a few times to initialize before RCP synchronizes. In the case here, our logging is being extra-extra verbose.

The key is that in the last part of your log it says GPS is initialized - you can see that in the system status of the app when you're connected, as well.

Hope this helps!
Brent Picasso
CEO and Founder, Autosport Labs
Facebook | Twitter

NHolden
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Dec 12, 2015 11:12 am
Location: United Kingdom

No Fix

Post by NHolden »

Hi,

Unfortunately it does not fix my issue.

The status I get is:
Status - Initialized
GPS Quality - No fix
Location - 0.0,0.0
Satellites - 0
Dilution of precision - 0


Unforutunately after 30 minutes of waiting, I still have no GPS fix - and I have tried for numerous days and in different locations.

Whilst GPS says it is initialized, there is no GPS lock. The GPS status light flashes once every 5 seconds.

I'm based in the UK - although I don't see how that should affect anything GPS wise.

Thanks,

Nick

brentp
Site Admin
Posts: 5956
Joined: Wed Jan 24, 2007 6:36 am

Post by brentp »

Hi NHolden,

We'll email you directly so we can go through this more carefully. It appears from your earlier post it did lock in, but later it did not. We'll get to the bottom of it!

-Brent
Brent Picasso
CEO and Founder, Autosport Labs
Facebook | Twitter

adamnyc
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Apr 18, 2016 4:08 pm

Post by adamnyc »

Having the same problem with a newly purchased unit, upgraded to the 2.9 firmware.

gps light is flashing at 1hz, gps status is initialized, gps quality is no fix, 0 satelites, 0 dilution of precision

brentp
Site Admin
Posts: 5956
Joined: Wed Jan 24, 2007 6:36 am

Post by brentp »

Just closing this thread, chatted with adamnyc and extra time was needed to lock in after a cold power-up.

-Brent
Brent Picasso
CEO and Founder, Autosport Labs
Facebook | Twitter

Post Reply