FreedomPop $ZERO/month plan works with RaceCapture telemetry

Setup and configuration for Race Capture Pro real-time telemetry features

Moderators: JeffC, rdoherty, stieg

rvc
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Aug 04, 2017 6:31 am

Post by rvc »

Brent, the FreedomPop Simcard which you supplied with the RC3 resulted in a "plan" type of "ENT GSM 500". It included 500 mb. I just purchased another simcard for a second unit and the only plan available is a "BAS GSM 200". Do you know what's up with that or how to aquire another "ENT GSM 500" plan?
Thx
Ray Van Cleave

brentp
Site Admin
Posts: 6210
Joined: Wed Jan 24, 2007 6:36 am

Post by brentp »

Unfortunately, Freedom Pop has discontinued the special offer for the 500MB plan. The only option is their standard 200MB plan.
Brent Picasso
CEO and Founder, Autosport Labs
Facebook | Twitter

Sawdust
Posts: 16
Joined: Sat Dec 23, 2017 4:30 pm

Re: FreedomPop $ZERO/month plan works with RaceCapture telemetry

Post by Sawdust »

Apparently FreedomPop is discontinuing the 200MB free plan. They sent out e-mails saying due to rate changes there will be a free tier only on their "Premium" network. The Premium network free tier is a data, text and voice plan with 25 MB data allowance. No indication that a data-only free plan will be available. Also note that if you have been using the 200MB free plan, as of May 1, 2021 you will automatically be put into a $3.99/month plan. Additionally it appears it is a 4G network, so no more 3G.

Nmunn
Posts: 12
Joined: Wed Nov 25, 2020 4:09 pm

Re: FreedomPop $ZERO/month plan works with RaceCapture telemetry

Post by Nmunn »

Have a freedompop card/account. Paid for some extra data, etc. Getting denied access from freedompop in status, their support stated I needed to modify the APN settings.

/Pro MK3 4G device.

Any pointers / links would be appreciated.

brentp
Site Admin
Posts: 6210
Joined: Wed Jan 24, 2007 6:36 am

Re: FreedomPop $ZERO/month plan works with RaceCapture telemetry

Post by brentp »

You will need to select the Freedom Pop carrier under Setup / Wireless settings.
Brent Picasso
CEO and Founder, Autosport Labs
Facebook | Twitter

Nmunn
Posts: 12
Joined: Wed Nov 25, 2020 4:09 pm

Re: FreedomPop $ZERO/month plan works with RaceCapture telemetry

Post by Nmunn »

Thanks Brent, have that setup correctly. I still get the message that I am denied when looking at the status.

brentp
Site Admin
Posts: 6210
Joined: Wed Jan 24, 2007 6:36 am

Re: FreedomPop $ZERO/month plan works with RaceCapture telemetry

Post by brentp »

It looks like the cellular hardware is working, but not being accepted onto the network.

Two things you can check:

* Can you confirm that the SIM card was provisioned for a data device, such as a hotspot, vs a phone? It must be for a data device; it won't work with a SIM provisioned for a phone.
* Try a data-only SIM from Verizon.
Brent Picasso
CEO and Founder, Autosport Labs
Facebook | Twitter

Nmunn
Posts: 12
Joined: Wed Nov 25, 2020 4:09 pm

Re: FreedomPop $ZERO/month plan works with RaceCapture telemetry

Post by Nmunn »

The question coming back from FreedomPop support is can my device support GSM. I have the 4G racecapture device.

brentp
Site Admin
Posts: 6210
Joined: Wed Jan 24, 2007 6:36 am

Re: FreedomPop $ZERO/month plan works with RaceCapture telemetry

Post by brentp »

It cannot support GSM. It is 4G only.
Brent Picasso
CEO and Founder, Autosport Labs
Facebook | Twitter

richard.bratton
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Sep 25, 2022 3:32 am

Re: FreedomPop $ZERO/month plan works with RaceCapture telemetry

Post by richard.bratton »

I recently ordered a Freedompop SIM and installed. They only offered one SIM, it is a GSMS nano sized SIM. I installed in my Racecapture device using a SIM adapter card.

https://www.freedompop.com/plans/free-plan

It was only $10, but I can't get the darn thing to work. In the post above this one, Brent said GSM won't work. The telemetry setup Wiki indicates GSM carriers should work and my device specifications (racecapture 3 pro) indicate GSM compatible so I'm obviously missing something.

What carriers are currently offering SIMs that work?

richard.bratton
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Sep 25, 2022 3:32 am

Re: FreedomPop $ZERO/month plan works with RaceCapture telemetry

Post by richard.bratton »

I'm trying a Xfinity Mobile SIM and ordered tonight. I believe it piggybacks the Verizon network. Planning to try the custom APN settings below.

APN: COMCAST.RSLR.VZWENTP
Username: (Leave this blank)
Password: (Leave this blank)

Post Reply