Calculated channel - brake bias

Discussion on the Lua Scripting capabilities for RaceCapture/Pro. Also see the <a href="http://autosportlabs.net/RaceCapturePro_Lua_Scripting">Lua Scripting Guide</a>

Moderators: JeffC, stieg

smallspeed

Calculated channel - brake bias

Post by smallspeed »

I have a twin master cylinder brake set up with a balance bar, and two pressure sensors for front and rear brake line pressure
Has anyone with a similar setup created a calculated / math channel to work out brake balance from these inputs? Would be really useful for set up, either in the form of two dials showing front and rear as percentages, or one dial that’s part red part green showing percentage with a number under in..

Obviously there’s more to it than just Pf / (Pf + Pr) but it’s more how to set up so it displays properly..
I wouldn’t want it showing in real time per-se more just a screen I can go to when initially dialing a car in before headed out on track

PS14

Post by PS14 »

I'm not a lua expert but i'll try to help. If your pulling two analog channels then try this from the Lua Scripting examples. you'll end up with a virtual guage that will show front bias as a percent of front plus rear. should get you started in the right direction. prior to all this technology I've always set my bias in the shop by pressing the pedal until the frt guage showed 300, then read the rear psi. I have a feel for what I need the rear to be at 300psi frt as a starting point. works as a simple check if for say last race you turned the knob like crazy. Dave

--10Hz update
setTickRate(10)

--Create channel: "BrakeBias"
--Sample rate: 10Hz
--Logging precision: 0 decimal points
--min/max: 0/100
--Units: "%"
--getAnalog(0) is Front brake press sensor channel
--getAnalog(1) is Rear brake press sensor channel
avgId = addChannel("BrakeBias", 10, 0, 0, 100, "%")

function brakeBias()
local a1 = getAnalog(0)
local a2 = getAnalog(1)
setChannel(avgId, (a1 / (a1+ a2))
end
end

function onTick()