analog channel 8-battery

Discussion on the RaceCapture App - Windows, Android, OSX and Linux.

Moderators: JeffC, stieg

Post Reply
G111ORH
Posts: 21
Joined: Sat May 30, 2015 4:17 pm

analog channel 8-battery

Post by G111ORH »

Hi there - this channel is showing 5volts as battery voltage....... what am I doing wrong?

toga94m
Posts: 127
Joined: Wed Jun 05, 2013 1:57 am
Location: Upstate NY

Post by toga94m »

I'd say you're operating from USB power instead of vehicle 12V power.. but when I do that, mine shows as about 4.2-4.3V and not the full 5.
------------
Learning Race Capture Pro... on someone else's car
Learning Python/Kivy on my own PC

G111ORH
Posts: 21
Joined: Sat May 30, 2015 4:17 pm

Post by G111ORH »

Its showing 5volts when on car battery power..... how do I get it to read real car volts?

toga94m
Posts: 127
Joined: Wed Jun 05, 2013 1:57 am
Location: Upstate NY

Post by toga94m »

Does it show 5V thru the app, or will it log 5V for battery if you hit the button and run a short log? What hardware (MK1 or MK2) do you have? I haven't wired my MK1 to anything other than vehicle power thru a cigarette lighter cable - all the other connections are vacant.
------------
Learning Race Capture Pro... on someone else's car
Learning Python/Kivy on my own PC

zechdz
Posts: 44
Joined: Sun Nov 08, 2015 3:04 pm

Post by zechdz »

I have a feeling he's talking about the 5V reference output.

I thought for a while that was the channel-8 seeing that it is physically to the left of channel 7.
vroom

brentp
Site Admin
Posts: 5986
Joined: Wed Jan 24, 2007 6:36 am

Post by brentp »

Hi,

Are you reading this via USB connected app, or via bluetooth?

One thing to ensure is that 12v is actually present at the terminal block at RCP. If you're connected via USB you might be tricked into thinking it's powered up.

A simple test is to disconnect USB, then ensuring RCP is still powered up; then you can monitor battery voltage.

Finally, it's possible the battery voltage calibration might be off. If you're still seeing issues after the above steps, please attach your configuration here and we'll take a peek at it.

Keep us posted!
Brent Picasso
CEO and Founder, Autosport Labs
Facebook | Twitter

G111ORH
Posts: 21
Joined: Sat May 30, 2015 4:17 pm

Post by G111ORH »

sorted..... channel configuration set wrong....... :roll:

Post Reply