It just stopped working!

General Topics for configuring, operating and tuning the Megajolt. Also see the <a href="http://www.autosportlabs.net/MJLJ_V4_Operation_Guide">Operation Guide</a>

Moderators: JeffC, rdoherty, stieg, brentp

FazerBob

It just stopped working!

Post by FazerBob »

While out for a run in my Zetec engine kit car, I found that above 3300 rpm the car was holding back, surging, misfiring etc etc. I managed to get back home in 'limp home' mode and this morning connected up the laptop to the Megajolt to try and find the cause.
Nothing happened when I clicked on the icon to get the current configuration from the car, my screen just kept showing the basic map screen that I'd opened with. I then opened a Zetec base setting configuration on my laptop and tried to save it to the Megajolt, but again no luck.
I have been running the megajolt for about 3 months now, with no trouble at all, apart from all my shift lights coming on permanently a couple of days ago. This could of course be part of my present problem.
I have the 12v feed and a good earth at the plug, but disconnecting the megajolt has no effect on the running engine. Following previously listed advice in the forums I decided to take the unit out of the car and check soldering etc. Before doing any re-soldering I carried out the checks detailed in the build procedure, but I don't seem to have any voltage at the specified points. The only place I can find any voltage is where I soldered the pins from the input socket through the board on my initial build.
I've now checked all the soldering, and re-made a couple of connections that looked slightly suspect, but I still get the same results.
Here's hoping someone can help with this.

brentp
Site Admin

Post by brentp »

Hello,

Are you doing your voltage checks on the bench, or with it still connected to the car's electrical system?

If testing on the bench, make sure you have a power supply that doesn't exceed 18V. a 9V battery is ideal.