Laptop hangs.

General Topics for configuring, operating and tuning the Megajolt. Also see the <a href="http://www.autosportlabs.net/MJLJ_V4_Operation_Guide">Operation Guide</a>

Moderators: JeffC, rdoherty, stieg, brentp

Richard Davidson

Laptop hangs.

Post by Richard Davidson »

Hi all,
I am new to this.
My car, a MGB GT has being running with an EDIS with TPS for some time now. When I run the engine with the laptop connected, after a short while (can be from 10 seconds to a couple of minuets during a test/set-up ride) the program hangs up.
To date I have only being able to guess, configure and write the program with the engine switched on, but not running. It has taken a lot of experimenting to get the engine to “feel right”.
I have run the VRS cable on the opposite of the engine to the coli and HT leads. Double earthed connections and put a condenser on the +ve leading to the coil and to the EDIS.
I have noticed a small movement/spike on the Rev counter every time an electrical switch (including the brakelight) is put on or off. Could this be a spike causing the program to hang?
What am I missing? Please help solving the cause.

brentp
Site Admin

Post by brentp »

Richard-

Are you using a usb-serial adapter? If so, the usb-serial adapter itself may be receiving interference from the ignition system. You may also try a laptop with a built-in serial port. You can also try physically distancing the usb-serial adapter from the engine with an extra serial cable.

Also check your plug wires for age and wear- if they seem marginal, try replacing them.

Finally, observe the timing using a timing light while the engine is running- does the timing remain stable as you vary the engine's RPM?

(FYI- I removed the duplicate topic you created- please avoid cross-posting on the same subject. Thanks!)

Let us know what you find out-

Regards,
Brent Picasso
CEO and Founder, Autosport Labs
Facebook | Twitter

Richard Davidson

Hi Brent,