Directry CAN mapping for Podium

Discussions on CAN mapping for ECUs, sensors, PDMs, and more.
Post Reply
Takabayashi
Posts: 21
Joined: Tue Nov 13, 2018 5:23 am

Directry CAN mapping for Podium

Post by Takabayashi »

i am using Podium with AIM SOLO & SOLO2.
Unfortunatery , i can see only limited CAN signal along SmartyCom Stream.
i want to see other signal that CAN mapping.
If possible , could you tell me how to setting (hard & soft)?

brentp
Site Admin
Posts: 5986
Joined: Wed Jan 24, 2007 6:36 am

Post by brentp »

Hello,

Our RaceCapture and PodiumConnect system has a 2nd CAN bus which can be used for other purposes.

The first CAN bus connects to the primary CAN network for AIM, and then the 2nd CAN bus can be used to talk to other CAN bus networks, such as ECU or other sensors.

We have information here on how to map CAN data on the 2nd CAN bus.
https://wiki.autosportlabs.com/CAN_Bus_Integration

Hope this helps!
Brent Picasso
CEO and Founder, Autosport Labs
Facebook | Twitter

Takabayashi
Posts: 21
Joined: Tue Nov 13, 2018 5:23 am

Post by Takabayashi »

Hello brentp ,

Thank you for your advice.

In this case , Do i need add some source to Lua?

If yes , could you tell me how to add source ?

brentp
Site Admin
Posts: 5986
Joined: Wed Jan 24, 2007 6:36 am

Post by brentp »

Hi,

You do not need to write any Lua code for mapping CAN channels - simply use the easy UI for defining channels. We have it documented here: https://wiki.autosportlabs.com/CAN_Bus_ ... o_channels

Thank you,
Brent Picasso
CEO and Founder, Autosport Labs
Facebook | Twitter

Takabayashi
Posts: 21
Joined: Tue Nov 13, 2018 5:23 am

CAN mapping except 1 or 2 byte

Post by Takabayashi »

Hello Brentp-san,

i could directly see CAN mapping data for 1 or 2 length(1(8bit) or 2(16bit) byte).

i want to see except 1 or 2 length.
For example 1 bit type and 12 bit type.

You can see attached file.

Could you tell me how to set them?
Attachments
1bit pattern , 12 bit pattern
1bit pattern , 12 bit pattern
CAN_Mapping1.PNG (47.93 KiB) Viewed 527 times

brentp
Site Admin
Posts: 5986
Joined: Wed Jan 24, 2007 6:36 am

Post by brentp »

Hi,

See the Bit mode note in the CAN mapping documentation here:
https://wiki.autosportlabs.com/CAN_Bus_ ... he_mapping

You will be able to map a channel with values < 8 bits that way.

Let us know how it works!
Brent Picasso
CEO and Founder, Autosport Labs
Facebook | Twitter

Takabayashi
Posts: 21
Joined: Tue Nov 13, 2018 5:23 am

Post by Takabayashi »

Hello ,

Of course i tried to along this document.
But i did not get positive result.

Could you tell me more detail.

If check the Bit Mode , how to input Offset and Length in A and B case.

( For example , A case Offset= ? Length=1 .

B case Offset=? Length=12 . )

ferg
Posts: 36
Joined: Mon Dec 03, 2018 7:56 pm
Location: Paso Robles, California
Contact:

Post by ferg »

When it Bit mode, the offsets are in bits (0-63), and the lengths are in bits as well.

I would try the following:

Case A: Offset 2, Length 1
Case B: Offset 16, Length 12
David Ferguson
Veracity Racing Data
Autosport Labs Preferred Dealer
https://veracitydata.com

Takabayashi
Posts: 21
Joined: Tue Nov 13, 2018 5:23 am

Post by Takabayashi »

Hello,

i try to input some value.
i had negative result.
Probably i understood RC mapping rule for bit mode.

One thing , regarding your advice about below.

>Case A: Offset 2, Length 1

i think Offset is 6.
Which is correct?

ferg
Posts: 36
Joined: Mon Dec 03, 2018 7:56 pm
Location: Paso Robles, California
Contact:

Post by ferg »

Well, there is a little "2" in the lower right corner of that box that represents the bit number. I would say (and I did say) it would be 2.

But you have the case to test.

Which one works?
David Ferguson
Veracity Racing Data
Autosport Labs Preferred Dealer
https://veracitydata.com

Takabayashi
Posts: 21
Joined: Tue Nov 13, 2018 5:23 am

Post by Takabayashi »

Hello Ferg-san,

Thank you for quickly reply.

Actually , i try to other vehicle.
i attached 2 mapping. One was done, other is not....

i think this case can ignor little endian and big endian.

In this case i could see signal.
Attachments
Succeed_1bit.PNG
Succeed_1bit.PNG (8.97 KiB) Viewed 482 times
Succeed_1bit_RCP.PNG
Succeed_1bit_RCP.PNG (18.93 KiB) Viewed 482 times

Takabayashi
Posts: 21
Joined: Tue Nov 13, 2018 5:23 am

Post by Takabayashi »

In this case , could not see signal.

But i think mapping will simuler before case.
Attachments
Not_succeed.PNG
Not_succeed.PNG (8.16 KiB) Viewed 481 times
Not_succeed_RCP.PNG
Not_succeed_RCP.PNG (20.53 KiB) Viewed 481 times

brentp
Site Admin
Posts: 5986
Joined: Wed Jan 24, 2007 6:36 am

Post by brentp »

Thank you for clarifying!
Brent Picasso
CEO and Founder, Autosport Labs
Facebook | Twitter

Post Reply