Updated OBDII mapping guide for standard and extended PIDs

Discussion and research on OBDII integration, especially on OEM specific PIDs from Ford, GM, Chevrolet, BMW, Porsche, Audi, Toyota, Volkswagen, Mazda, Honda, Subaru, Mitsubishi and others.
Post Reply
brentp
Site Admin
Posts: 5956
Joined: Wed Jan 24, 2007 6:36 am

Updated OBDII mapping guide for standard and extended PIDs

Post by brentp »

We have a vastly expanded OBDII mapping guide which will show you how to map standard and extended (Mode22) PIDs. Check it out here:

https://wiki.autosportlabs.com/RC_OBDII

Please let us know here how it works for you, and if we've missed anything.

Thank you,
Brent Picasso
CEO and Founder, Autosport Labs
Facebook | Twitter

wobbletop
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat Aug 10, 2019 9:58 pm
Location: Canada

Post by wobbletop »

Copying a question I posted on your FB page:

Can I get some help trying to get extended OBDII working? Ford Focus RS and trying to get TPMS data.
It works correctly with Torque using their default setting: PID 222813, equation (((256*A)+B)/3+22/3)*0.145
I'm using OBDII PID 10259,22h, CAN ID 2024, Offset 4 length 2 unsigned, big endian
I've also tried 29bit mode.
How do I debug this? I get no data (only 0's) I also see something about squelching that channel in the Info log. Not sure what that means.

Digger deeper, maybe I need to set the OBD header? In Torque it's changed from the default to 726 (hex I think). I don't think we have the option to change that in RC.

brentp
Site Admin
Posts: 5956
Joined: Wed Jan 24, 2007 6:36 am

Post by brentp »

Hi, can you post a link to the torque docs that show how the header is changed? We'll see if we can adapt it.

Thanks,
Brent Picasso
CEO and Founder, Autosport Labs
Facebook | Twitter

wobbletop
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat Aug 10, 2019 9:58 pm
Location: Canada

Post by wobbletop »

Of course I can't find any documentation on the Torque Pro extended PIDs.

It just says it has a header of 726. Other header values I've seen are "Auto" "ABS" "TCM" and blank.
Another value I've been sort of able to retrieve had a blank header, but the data received didn't match the expected values, but it sent back something.

Is there a simple lua script to send something out and monitor what comes back?
Attachments
Screenshot_20200521-090015_Torque.jpg
Screenshot_20200521-090015_Torque.jpg (36.07 KiB) Viewed 368 times

brentp
Site Admin
Posts: 5956
Joined: Wed Jan 24, 2007 6:36 am

Post by brentp »

Here's are two examples of manual OBDII querying:

https://gist.github.com/brentpicasso/ed ... 36a3588424
https://gist.github.com/brentpicasso/7a ... 6c70024041

You can see how the request / reply works. Not sure what Torque means be "header" - if you can clarify that we can understand where it fits in the standard OBDII query / response.

Let us know what you find out. Thanks!
Brent Picasso
CEO and Founder, Autosport Labs
Facebook | Twitter

wobbletop
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat Aug 10, 2019 9:58 pm
Location: Canada

Post by wobbletop »

While I look at that lua code... here's another post on another forum that goes into more details about the exact PID I'm looking for.

https://www.clublexus.com/forums/is-2nd ... eader.html

HomebuiltRacing
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon Dec 30, 2019 10:36 am

Re: Updated OBDII mapping guide for standard and extended PIDs

Post by HomebuiltRacing »

brentp wrote: Mon Oct 14, 2019 11:02 pm
Please let us know here how it works for you, and if we've missed anything.

Thank you,
Hi, Brent!

I have an issue with Track MK2 and OBD channels.
I kinda got it working, but I still cant understand what is wrong, so it's really upsetting )
The problem is when I add ANY OBD channel from scratch, it doesn't work. But if channel is added via presets - everything works fine.
I added standard presets couple of times and changed PIDs and conversion to get info that I need. Doublechecked OBD PID, CAN ID Match and Raw Value Mapping and all settings are exactly the same as in requests added via presets except those are working fine and new ones don't.
What can be the problem?

Post Reply