CAN 2.0 interface I/O

Discussion on the RaceCapture App - Windows, Android, OSX and Linux.

Moderators: JeffC, stieg

Post Reply
sigtrm
Posts: 17
Joined: Fri Dec 19, 2014 10:31 am

CAN 2.0 interface I/O

Post by sigtrm »

Let's say I have some sensors which output CAN2.0A in Motorola format( I have full frame spec) how can I configure RCP mkII for use with custom sensors/CAN2 protocol.

Also how can I setup second CAN to output CAN 2.0 custom frames?

I suck at searching or I just can't find documentation for this, it would be nice if so one could point me to proper docs.

sigtrm
Posts: 17
Joined: Fri Dec 19, 2014 10:31 am

Post by sigtrm »

Ok, found some resources:
http://www.autosportlabs.net/RaceCaptur ... _Scripting
http://www.autosportlabs.net/RaceCaptur ... g_Examples

Should be enough, but is it it? or there is some more?

brentp
Site Admin
Posts: 6274
Joined: Wed Jan 24, 2007 6:36 am

Post by brentp »

For integrating a new CAN system this is the essential guide:

http://autosportlabs.net/CAN_Bus_Integration

What kind of sensors are they?
Brent Picasso
CEO and Founder, Autosport Labs
Facebook | Twitter

sigtrm
Posts: 17
Joined: Fri Dec 19, 2014 10:31 am

Post by sigtrm »

brentp wrote:For integrating a new CAN system this is the essential guide:

http://autosportlabs.net/CAN_Bus_Integration

What kind of sensors are they?
That is what I wanted I think.

Brightwater
http://www.brightwater.co.uk/tms.html

I attached CAN spec from Brighwater. I will share code if/when I implement those;-)


*BTW, I was allowed to share it with RCP community.
Attachments
can.jpg
can.jpg (249.89 KiB) Viewed 2822 times

brentp
Site Admin
Posts: 6274
Joined: Wed Jan 24, 2007 6:36 am

Post by brentp »

Fantastic. Use the mapping framework seen in the integration guide to develop the mapping - post it here and we'll review.

Thanks for sharing!

-Brent
Brent Picasso
CEO and Founder, Autosport Labs
Facebook | Twitter

brentp
Site Admin
Posts: 6274
Joined: Wed Jan 24, 2007 6:36 am

Post by brentp »

Ok, added to CAN database. thanks again! http://autosportlabs.net/CAN_Bus_databa ... chnologies
Brent Picasso
CEO and Founder, Autosport Labs
Facebook | Twitter

sigtrm
Posts: 17
Joined: Fri Dec 19, 2014 10:31 am

Post by sigtrm »

brentp wrote:Ok, added to CAN database. thanks again! http://autosportlabs.net/CAN_Bus_databa ... chnologies
Thank you brent, I am implementing this now, will post soon.

You switched Mul with Add in table on wiki;-) Multiplier can't be 0 obviously;-)

Have few additional questions:

1. After defining virtual channel I do not see it on the list Select Channel. I can see my channels only on last screen where all the values are listed.
2. Can you consider external editor for LUA? The one from scripting tab...($%$$&^. For example when I use

Code: Select all

print("DEBUG\n something")
it prints ok with newline, but after closing and reopening RCP code editor looks like this:

Code: Select all

print("DEBUG
 something")
;-)

3. Is debug window is on the same UI thread with Script Editor window? Because it is so slow when Poll is checked.

brentp
Site Admin
Posts: 6274
Joined: Wed Jan 24, 2007 6:36 am

Post by brentp »

Thanks for catching the error. Fixed! http://autosportlabs.net/CAN_Bus_databa ... chnologies

we don't yet have an external editor - that simply looks like a bug to fix! You can print newlines with a println() also.

We do have some optimizing to do for the log window when there is a lot of data. You can also view the log via a terminal program, following these instructions: http://autosportlabs.net/CAN_Bus_logger ... al_Program

For the virtual channel update, we are fixing that in the 2.8.0 / 1.3.0 release of the firmware, coming likely within a week.

-Brent
Brent Picasso
CEO and Founder, Autosport Labs
Facebook | Twitter

sigtrm
Posts: 17
Joined: Fri Dec 19, 2014 10:31 am

Post by sigtrm »

brentp wrote:Thanks for catching the error. Fixed! http://autosportlabs.net/CAN_Bus_databa ... chnologies

we don't yet have an external editor - that simply looks like a bug to fix! You can print newlines with a println() also.

We do have some optimizing to do for the log window when there is a lot of data. You can also view the log via a terminal program, following these instructions: http://autosportlabs.net/CAN_Bus_logger ... al_Program

For the virtual channel update, we are fixing that in the 2.8.0 / 1.3.0 release of the firmware, coming likely within a week.

-Brent
Thanks,
3 more questions:-)

1. Why 10 vchans limit? 4 wheels x temp+pressure and I have only two left:-(
2. Can I update wiki myself or do I have to post here or send to some email?
3. How much Lua is supported? Which libs ?

brentp
Site Admin
Posts: 6274
Joined: Wed Jan 24, 2007 6:36 am

Post by brentp »

Here you go:

1) Actually, in the latest firmware you can set up to 30 virtual channels - just fixed the Lua documentation.
2) We have registrations constrained due to spam. Please email us at [email protected] to be a wiki contributor. Thank you!
3) Only the basic Lua libraries are supported and some math functions. We're looking to add the bitop() functions as well in a future firmware release. If there was a specific function you were looking for, let us know!
Brent Picasso
CEO and Founder, Autosport Labs
Facebook | Twitter

sigtrm
Posts: 17
Joined: Fri Dec 19, 2014 10:31 am

Post by sigtrm »

brentp wrote:Here you go:

1) Actually, in the latest firmware you can set up to 30 virtual channels - just fixed the Lua documentation.
2) We have registrations constrained due to spam. Please email us at [email protected] to be a wiki contributor. Thank you!
3) Only the basic Lua libraries are supported and some math functions. We're looking to add the bitop() functions as well in a future firmware release. If there was a specific function you were looking for, let us know!
I updated wiki a little for Brightwater TPMS, I will fix and clean it ASAP:

http://www.autosportlabs.net/Brightwater_TPMS_CAN

http://www.autosportlabs.net/CAN_Bus_da ... _.28WIP.29

brentp
Site Admin
Posts: 6274
Joined: Wed Jan 24, 2007 6:36 am

Post by brentp »

Thank you for updating the information!
Brent Picasso
CEO and Founder, Autosport Labs
Facebook | Twitter

UMS Tuning
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Jun 08, 2015 5:27 am
Location: Arizona

AEM CAN

Post by UMS Tuning »

If it helps, here are all of the AEM addresses, im planing to use my RCP with my AEM Infinity.


http://aemelectronics.com/sites/default ... Public.pdf
Tony

Post Reply