RPM slow response to app

General Q&A specific to RaceCapture/Pro. For app related questions post in the RaceCapture App forum. also see the <a href="http://www.autosportlabs.net/RaceCapture">RaceCapture Information Page</a>

Moderators: JeffC, rdoherty, stieg, brentp

Post Reply
PS14
Posts: 97
Joined: Fri Feb 12, 2016 11:27 pm
Location: NY

RPM slow response to app

Post by PS14 »

Watching some in car footage i noticed the RPM guage seems to show the same readings alot. like "5445". its not smooth or updateing fast enuff? any thoughts on what would cause this.

Here's a link to a 30 sec video where you can see what i mean. https://youtu.be/LSXodl13IYc

MK2/Rpi on latest app and firmware.
USB cable from MK2 to Rpi dash
Rpm channel set to medium and 25htz (same as all other channels) pulled in from a CoilX attached to kettering type ignition (GM Hei)

Thanks, Dave

brentp
Site Admin
Posts: 6281
Joined: Wed Jan 24, 2007 6:36 am

Post by brentp »

Hi, is this your car's video, or something you found online?

Best would be to do a controlled test to carefully observe the RPM response. There's too little information in the video you shared for us to comment. Overall, RaceCapture calculates RPM on every ignition pulse, which will make it very high resolution.
Brent Picasso
CEO and Founder, Autosport Labs
Facebook | Twitter

PS14
Posts: 97
Joined: Fri Feb 12, 2016 11:27 pm
Location: NY

Post by PS14 »

its my gopro footage. at first i thought maybe it was a video issue. it just seems odd that i see the same rpm readings repeating. it will do the same thing sitting in the shop and reving the engine, as tho the display cant update fast enuff.

brentp
Site Admin
Posts: 6281
Joined: Wed Jan 24, 2007 6:36 am

Post by brentp »

Yes, a test in your shop in a controlled environment would be helpful.

Try varying RPM at different speeds and see if the RPM updates smoothly on the display.
Brent Picasso
CEO and Founder, Autosport Labs
Facebook | Twitter

mdknutsen
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Feb 04, 2019 12:17 am

Post by mdknutsen »

Any update on this? Ive been having s similar issue.

brentp
Site Admin
Posts: 6281
Joined: Wed Jan 24, 2007 6:36 am

Post by brentp »

Hi mdknutsen,

How are you reading your RPM? Direct wire, CAN bus mapping or OBDII? If OBDII, what year is the ECU?
Brent Picasso
CEO and Founder, Autosport Labs
Facebook | Twitter

RinerAuto
Posts: 1
Joined: Sat May 13, 2023 9:58 pm

Re: RPM slow response to app

Post by RinerAuto »

Instead of starting a duplicate new topic, figured reply to this one.

I'm seeing RPM signal is delayed on tablet which is connnected via bluetooth to RaceCapture/Pro Mk4. RPM is coming over legacy OBDII (2003 Ford ecu).

Is RPM expected to be delayed over OBDII? Is tablet connection over bluetooth or wifi preferred?

brentp
Site Admin
Posts: 6281
Joined: Wed Jan 24, 2007 6:36 am

Re: RPM slow response to app

Post by brentp »

Hi,

What you're experiencing is possibly a combination of things:

1. The ECU's protocol for older (pre 2008 ) is quite slow compared to the CAN protocol of newer cars. This will limit how fast individual channels will update.
2. The OBDII protocol is request-reply protocol where each requested channel takes turns being requested. We have a very smart querying engine where channels configured for faster update rates are queried at a higher interval, to help optimize the design. See our OBDII guide here for the rest of the story and on how to set up your system: https://wiki.autosportlabs.com/RC_OBDII ... erformance

Overall, our OBDII system - especially with our legacy adapter, is designed to display data as fast as your ECU will allow. See the notes here on the Legacy adapter:
https://wiki.autosportlabs.com/OBD2CAN# ... f_your_ECU

One other way to get faster RPM performance is to directly sense the RPM signal using RaceCapture/Pro.
https://wiki.autosportlabs.com/RaceCapturePro_RPM
https://wiki.autosportlabs.com/RaceCapt ... PM_Sensors

We hope this helps!

Post Reply