Dual maps V3.1.0

Information and announcements on updates to the Megajolt firmware and PC software

Moderators: JeffC, rdoherty, stieg, brentp

Post Reply
brentp
Site Admin
Posts: 5925
Joined: Wed Jan 24, 2007 6:36 am

That would be in the 3.1.0

Post by brentp »

That would be in the 3.1.0 upgrade documentation, if it existed yet. :)

the feature needs to be enabled on the controller. On the 3.1.0 configurator, go into the global controller options and enable the one option listed. Be sure to click 'write to controller'.

Your switch should now allow you to flip between configurations. Also look under the configurator options; you can set it to re-fetch the configuration if it sees that the configuration has changed.

If you still can't flip configurations make sure you driving +5v into the option port for configuration 2, and GND for configuration 1.

Best,
Brent Picasso
CEO and Founder, Autosport Labs
Facebook | Twitter

brentp
Site Admin
Posts: 5925
Joined: Wed Jan 24, 2007 6:36 am

Dual maps V3.1.0

Post by brentp »

Hi Brent

Now have the latest firmware up and running OK. Must say the car runs alot smoother, will need to adjust map now that the load points have been adjusted.

I have installed a switch to be able to swap map. But can't seem to be able to.

Steve.
Brent Picasso
CEO and Founder, Autosport Labs
Facebook | Twitter

capri_turbo
Posts: 118
Joined: Tue Jan 10, 2006 8:17 pm
Location: North Yorkshire, UK

Would this work?

Post by capri_turbo »

<a href="http://photobucket.com/" target="_blank"><img src="http://i105.photobucket.com/albums/m227 ... switch.jpg" border="0" alt="Photobucket - Video and Image Hosting"></a>

allowing a simple 2 wire connection to the switch. I've been looking at the V3 schematics, and wondered, could the 5.1V Zener (D1) be replaced with the 10K pull down resistor? Then there would simply be 2 wires to the switch (Option and Vref) for a logic 1 and the pull down resistor would give a logic 0 when the switch was open circuit?

aarc240
Posts: 65
Joined: Mon Dec 18, 2006 10:54 am
Location: Mid North South Australia

I posted on another

Post by aarc240 »

I posted on another thread:

quote:
A different solution on a V3 that works for me was:
1 install a 1k resistor across zener diode D1 (under the board)
2 drive the option input from a switched 'ignition' source through a 120R resistor

The 1k ensures port B7 will go to 0 when the switch is off and the 120R will limit the current when the switch is on.
endquote

Don't even think about replacing the Zener diode with a resistor as you will lose all overvoltage and spike protection on the input pin of the microcontroller.
Even if you use Vref as proposed, include the current limiting 120R to make sure you can't fry anything by connecting or contacting 12V on one of those 'brain fade' days.
You will still get a valid logic 1 on the input to the microcontroller even though it will be under Vref, actually (Vref x (1k / (1k + 120R)))
There is no reason against using 10k across the Zener either in which case it will become (Vref x (10k / (10k + 120R)))

Post Reply