Time and date on logfiles

Got a burning desire for a new feature? post it here!

Moderators: JeffC, stieg

ZeeB

Time and date on logfiles

Post by ZeeB »

Please please please put a time and date on the log files when you write them to the SD card. Having 40 logfiles all created on some random date after a day of testing and 2 days of racing makes my life really unfun.

ohiokm11

Post by ohiokm11 »

This is the number one thing that I would like to see as well. Also within the logfiles can the time be the actual time from the GPS? My old BT747 logger was able to do this so I suspect it is possible, just not sure how much work it is.

falcken

Time & Date Stamps on Log Files

Post by falcken »

I'm new to this blog, but we've been waiting for several firmware upgrades hoping to
see Time & Date stamps on log files. Or is there another way to get around this?

toga94m

Post by toga94m »

As a workaround, GPS timestamps can be in the logfile too. Open one in notepad. It'll be GMT (England) timezone, and not easy to import into excel - format is something like HHMMSS.ss where SS goes from 00-59. But using that, and grabbing logfile to your PC every day or two, you can figure out when each log happened.
------------
Learning Race Capture Pro... on someone else's car
Learning Python/Kivy on my own PC

brentp
Site Admin

Post by brentp »

Hello,

A Unix Epoch timestamp, derived from GPS is coming in a future version of the V2 software. this will show up in the first column under 'ts'. Thanks for waiting, we know this is an important feature!
Brent Picasso
CEO and Founder, Autosport Labs
Facebook | Twitter

mikesmith

Post by mikesmith »

Could we also have correct creation / modification times on the files themselves? Right now they're timestamped UTC; track definitions should have timezones, so conversion should be pretty straightforward...

stephen

Post by stephen »