generating a speed output to drive stack dash

Discussion on the Lua Scripting capabilities for RaceCapture/Pro. Also see the <a href="http://autosportlabs.net/RaceCapturePro_Lua_Scripting">Lua Scripting Guide</a>

Moderators: JeffC, stieg

Post Reply
G111ORH
Posts: 21
Joined: Sat May 30, 2015 4:17 pm

generating a speed output to drive stack dash

Post by G111ORH »

i have a stack dashboard (see link below) and have problems keeping speed sensors working.....tarmac rallycar in Ireland.

the sensor the stack dash uses is the ifm sensor linked below......

could the rcp be programmed to replace the ifm sensor and provide an equivalent signal ......

http://www.stackltd.com/st8130.html

http://www.ifm.com/products/irl/ds/IE5238.htm

G111ORH
Posts: 21
Joined: Sat May 30, 2015 4:17 pm

Post by G111ORH »

i got my multimeter out today..... there are two wires coming to the sensor from the stack dash.... the white wire has 6.32v v's ground and the black wire is zero volts v ground..... is it as simple then as connecting these two wires across a digital output and then switching this output in line with speed ?

G111ORH
Posts: 21
Joined: Sat May 30, 2015 4:17 pm

Post by G111ORH »

Hellooo - anyone here ?

MikeD
Posts: 39
Joined: Sun May 29, 2016 11:55 am
Location: Austria
Contact:

Post by MikeD »

Do you want to use the RaceCapture/Pro GPS speed to output this as a frequency signal and receive it by the Stack instead of using the wheelspeed sensor from Stack?

If so, this should work in theory...
However I didn't try it and from a look at the wiki pages it seems that the RCP can only generate frequency signals higher than 320

Here is the corresponding wiki text:
setPwmClockFreq( frequency )
Sets the clock frequency of the PWM outputs

params
frequency: the frequency of the PWM clock, in Hz. Supported range is 320-40000 Hz


If the wiki is correct and the RCP cannot generate lower frequencies than 320 then I'm not sure on the other hand if the Stack unit has the ability to read the high speed signals when you are going fast...

MAYBE SOMEONE FROM AUTOSPORTLABS COULD CHIME IN AND COMMENT ON LOW FREQUENCY OUTPUT FUNCTIONALITY.

brentp
Site Admin
Posts: 5925
Joined: Wed Jan 24, 2007 6:36 am

Post by brentp »

HI MIKE

So that's correct, RCP can only output frequencies above 320Hz. Not sure if that will work with the Stack's output. A custom pulse divider circuit outside of RCP might be able to divide the signal however!

Let us know what you find out.
Brent Picasso
CEO and Founder, Autosport Labs
Facebook | Twitter

Post Reply