Undriveable under load

General Megajolt Questions and Answers

Moderators: JeffC, rdoherty, stieg, brentp

rekka

Undriveable under load

Post by rekka »

HI, I'm new to all this. First post first vehicle without a distributor.
I've built myself a 2276cc naturally aspirated VW motor (Empi HPMX carbs) for my bus. Megajolt with map installed. It is undriveable under load. I found a map that is close to a stock VW distributor as my starting point, but I cant get over 2000 RPM in second gear, without it missing, cutting out and a massive backfire through exhaust. Ive tried a few different maps, with plus or minus 5 degrees at that point in the grid, but no difference, on a gente downhill run it passes through that point and pulls well. I just happen to live at the top of a 15km hill. I have checked my voltages and grounds and that all checks out. Coil is new from Dubshop.net. I'm confident my static timing is OK. I've run out of ideas, but this is all new to me so I might be missing something obvious. Any ideas greatly appreciated.

The point it goes bad, is 2000RPM, 90Kpa and anywhere from 15 to 25 degrees advance. NO change.

rekka

Update.

Post by rekka »

I unplugged the megajolt and it runs much smoother on edis alone. So I made a map with all points at 10 degrees (limp mode map) hooked the megajolt back up and it runs much rougher with lots of misfiring. So it has to be megajolt or wiring. Correct?

brentp
Site Admin

Post by brentp »

Thanks for the note.

One thing to check is by using a timing light on the crank to see what the actual timing is under varying conditions - EDIS only, or with Megajolt plugged in. Are you able to perform this test with an actual timing light? You should be able to get some useful information just running the car through the rev range while observing the timing.

Thanks, will watch for updates.
Brent Picasso
CEO and Founder, Autosport Labs
Facebook | Twitter

rekka

Post by rekka »