RaceCapture Track 2.13 Beta Bugs

Found a hardware issue we should fix, or got a feature request? Post it here.
Muda
Posts: 19
Joined: Sat Jan 13, 2018 9:06 pm

Post by Muda »

It did the last time I tried it, yes.
FWIW, today I installed my Pro 3 in my other car. Using firmware 2.13 my 4 analog sensors and RPM trigger works fine. But I can't get any ODB2 sensors. I really only want to know and be able to log IAT as this is important for tweaking the engine to the proper AFR. I could put a temp sensor in the airflow but it would be nice if that $99 cable did something. :)

brentp
Site Admin
Posts: 6281
Joined: Wed Jan 24, 2007 6:36 am

Post by brentp »

As a test, you can downgrade your RCP to 2.12.0 to see if your OBDII adapter works. that would be a good datapoint for us. Thanks!
Brent Picasso
CEO and Founder, Autosport Labs
Facebook | Twitter

Muda
Posts: 19
Joined: Sat Jan 13, 2018 9:06 pm

Post by Muda »

OK, can I use the same config or do I have to start from scratch?

brentp
Site Admin
Posts: 6281
Joined: Wed Jan 24, 2007 6:36 am

Post by brentp »

If you're only doing a diagnostic test, just use the factory default config, and add one OBDII channel (like RPM) for testing.

Likewise, when you go back to 2.13.0, you can do the same isolated test (one OBDII channel) to get a very precise comparison.

Thanks!
Brent Picasso
CEO and Founder, Autosport Labs
Facebook | Twitter

Muda
Posts: 19
Joined: Sat Jan 13, 2018 9:06 pm

Post by Muda »

First test: Loaded 2.12, factory config, setup IAT and Engine Temp, both worked perfectly.
Second test: Added working config created under 2.13, removed IAT & ENgine temp, Reloaded them, both worked.

On to 2.13 reload and try with factory config

Muda
Posts: 19
Joined: Sat Jan 13, 2018 9:06 pm

Post by Muda »

Loaded firmware 2.13, added IAT and engine temp ODB2, made sure that CAN was On, 500khz, Mapping off, ODB2 on.

Nothing.....Zeros

brentp
Site Admin
Posts: 6281
Joined: Wed Jan 24, 2007 6:36 am

Post by brentp »

Thanks. So, in summary, your 2.13.0 configuration loaded into 2.12.0 firmware worked OK for OBDII.

Will note and investigate. Thanks!
Brent Picasso
CEO and Founder, Autosport Labs
Facebook | Twitter

Muda
Posts: 19
Joined: Sat Jan 13, 2018 9:06 pm

Post by Muda »

Yes, it appears that it's something in the 2.13 firmware that is blocking the ODB2 reads.
But I need 2.13 as that's the one that allows control of the GoPro's, at least with the RCP, correct?

brentp
Site Admin
Posts: 6281
Joined: Wed Jan 24, 2007 6:36 am

Post by brentp »

2.13.0 we added native go-pro control.

If you need to use 2.12.0, the old way still works, with the Lua script:
https://wiki.autosportlabs.com/RaceCapt ... _GoProWiFi
Brent Picasso
CEO and Founder, Autosport Labs
Facebook | Twitter

Muda
Posts: 19
Joined: Sat Jan 13, 2018 9:06 pm

Post by Muda »

Just to confirm, in order for a config created under 2.13 with non-working ODB2 inputs to work after reloading 2.12, you have to delete the ODB2 inputs and reload them for them to work. That is, they must be created within 2.12 firmware.

brentp
Site Admin
Posts: 6281
Joined: Wed Jan 24, 2007 6:36 am

Post by brentp »

Hi,

Just confirming; are you saying that a config saved by a system with 2.13.0 firmware will not work when loaded into 2.12.0, and that you have to remove and re-add the channel to get it to work?
Brent Picasso
CEO and Founder, Autosport Labs
Facebook | Twitter

Muda
Posts: 19
Joined: Sat Jan 13, 2018 9:06 pm

Post by Muda »

Yes, exactly. Confirmed this morning when I took the unit back to 2.12 and reloaded the config I created under 2.13 with all of the other sensors working. When I delete the ODB2's and reload they work fine but do not work when first loaded. Everything else seems to work correctly.

brentp
Site Admin
Posts: 6281
Joined: Wed Jan 24, 2007 6:36 am

Post by brentp »

Thanks, will check that too.
Brent Picasso
CEO and Founder, Autosport Labs
Facebook | Twitter

Post Reply