Connecting to Innovate LC2 wideband sensor

Q&A for AnalogX Analog to CAN interface. <a href="https://wiki.autosportlabs.com/AnalogX">Installation and Operation Guide</a>
Post Reply
kiwiracer
Posts: 13
Joined: Mon Aug 29, 2016 7:31 pm

Connecting to Innovate LC2 wideband sensor

Post by kiwiracer »

Hi.. Im planning out some of the AnalogX stuff, and how we can loop in more sensors

Innovate LC2 wideband (default is as follows)..

Analog output one (yellow) is 0V = 7.35 AFR and 5V = 22.39 AFR.

In RaceCapture App, what's a good way to scale this configuration for this custom sensors ?

Ideally it would give me a value between 7.35-22.39.. if I set the scale in the configuration, will it then show me the actual AFR value in racecapture

thanks

brentp
Site Admin
Posts: 5925
Joined: Wed Jan 24, 2007 6:36 am

Post by brentp »

Hi, Are you connecting the wide band directly to the RaceCapture/Pro inputs? If so, we have a guide here that talks generally about how to calibrate a sensor: https://wiki.autosportlabs.com/RaceCapt ... ate_Sensor

Hope this helps!
Brent Picasso
CEO and Founder, Autosport Labs
Facebook | Twitter

kiwiracer
Posts: 13
Joined: Mon Aug 29, 2016 7:31 pm

Post by kiwiracer »

That's a really good doc..

But I have a Race Capture / Track, so I assume I need the AnalogX to feed the sensor data into the ECU, then tap into those values on the CAN Bus ?.. Is that how this works ?..

brentp
Site Admin
Posts: 5925
Joined: Wed Jan 24, 2007 6:36 am

Post by brentp »

Right - in the case with AnalogX - it would read the voltage from the wideband and then report that voltage by sending a message on the CAN bus.

If you can share the voltage scaling - e.g. 0v = X AFR and 5v = Y - then we can construct a mapping for that AFR value.

The value is mapped using our CAN mapping system, documented here:
https://wiki.autosportlabs.com/CAN_Bus_ ... AN_mapping
Last edited by brentp on Tue Aug 01, 2017 5:40 am, edited 1 time in total.
Brent Picasso
CEO and Founder, Autosport Labs
Facebook | Twitter

kiwiracer
Posts: 13
Joined: Mon Aug 29, 2016 7:31 pm

Post by kiwiracer »

Ok, cool.

How's AnalogX going to plug into the CAN bus.. I have a Ecotec with a LE5 - it uses a E67 ECU and RaceCapture/Track.

Is there a way to add the message to the CAN bus, with some pins' on the Controller.. I guess that's something I need to work out ?

thanks

brentp
Site Admin
Posts: 5925
Joined: Wed Jan 24, 2007 6:36 am

Post by brentp »

So, It would connect by attaching the two CAN wires (CAN high and CAN low) to the existing CAN bus - then it would broadcast data along side the other traffic on the same CAN bus.

You'd also want to disable CAN termination by breaking the CAN termination jumper on the unit as well, documented here:
https://wiki.autosportlabs.com/AnalogX

I think a diagram would certainly help, we'll work on getting that added. :)
Brent Picasso
CEO and Founder, Autosport Labs
Facebook | Twitter

kiwiracer
Posts: 13
Joined: Mon Aug 29, 2016 7:31 pm

Post by kiwiracer »

got it!, that's why it's called a bus !!

yes, a diagram would be super helpful

Im excited to get AnalogX..

- Fuel level will be epic to see up in Podium (oh and on our dash)
- WideBand O2 is critical to monitor, my drivers never look at it :-)

And I may wire up the brake light sensor, could be cool to look at with laptimes, and analysis on breaking / acceleration to help our guys improve.

brentp
Site Admin
Posts: 5925
Joined: Wed Jan 24, 2007 6:36 am

Post by brentp »

All analogx orders have been shipped, you should get your soon!
Brent Picasso
CEO and Founder, Autosport Labs
Facebook | Twitter

Post Reply