Exported session Longitude missing decimal point

Found a bug or got a feature request? Post it here.
Post Reply
tankrust_racing
Posts: 7
Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2018 11:48 pm

Exported session Longitude missing decimal point

Post by tankrust_racing »

After having difficulty importing a particular Racecapture session into Track Attack, I took a look at the raw data in the .log file. In several spots in the file, the longitude is missing the decimal place, which wreaks havoc with plotting the lap. An excerpt of the cells is below. This does not happen in every log file, but often enough to be a nuisance. It actually looks like it is replacing the decimal place with an extra "2" in this instance.

"Latitude"|"Degrees"|-180.0|180.0|10 "Longitude"|"Degrees"|-180.0|180.0|10
34.878864 -118.265961
34.878864 -118.265961
34.878841 -1182265945
34.878841 -1182265945
34.878841 -1182265945
34.878822 -118.265938
34.878822 -118.265938

Any help would be appreciated!

brentp
Site Admin
Posts: 5925
Joined: Wed Jan 24, 2007 6:36 am

Post by brentp »

Hi,

Thanks for the note. We haven't seen this one before, but try with a freshly formatted SD card, or one with a faster write speed rating. An SD card hiccup might be causing the dropped character here.
Brent Picasso
CEO and Founder, Autosport Labs
Facebook | Twitter

tankrust_racing
Posts: 7
Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2018 11:48 pm

Post by tankrust_racing »

Definitely not the SD card, I tried with two different Sandisk Ultra Plus UHS-1 cards. If it's fast enough to save 4k video to, it should have no problem with the log exports. Also, if it were a card speed issue, the data corruption wouldn't be limited to just one character at multiple spots in the file.

Also to make clear, this is happening on the Raspberry Pi version of the Racecapture software. Connection is via USB.

brentp
Site Admin
Posts: 5925
Joined: Wed Jan 24, 2007 6:36 am

Post by brentp »

Hi, to be clear - are you exporting the log file from the app on the RPi, or are you recording the data via an SD card inserted into your RaceCapture/Pro system?
Brent Picasso
CEO and Founder, Autosport Labs
Facebook | Twitter

tankrust_racing
Posts: 7
Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2018 11:48 pm

Post by tankrust_racing »

The log is exported using the app on the RPi. The data is captured with a Racecapture/Track MK2.

brentp
Site Admin
Posts: 5925
Joined: Wed Jan 24, 2007 6:36 am

Post by brentp »

Thanks for the clarification. We'll see what we can do to reproduce it.
Brent Picasso
CEO and Founder, Autosport Labs
Facebook | Twitter

Post Reply