Possible to log CAN data on RCP MKI?

General Q&A specific to RaceCapture/Pro. For app related questions post in the RaceCapture App forum. also see the <a href="http://www.autosportlabs.net/RaceCapture">RaceCapture Information Page</a>

Moderators: JeffC, rdoherty, stieg, brentp

brentp
Site Admin
Posts: 5955
Joined: Wed Jan 24, 2007 6:36 am

Post by brentp »

That crystal should work!
Brent Picasso
CEO and Founder, Autosport Labs
Facebook | Twitter

GTIspirit
Posts: 233
Joined: Wed Jan 09, 2013 11:20 am
Location: SE Michigan

C1 correct?

Post by GTIspirit »

Is C1 the correct form factor? Looks a bit small for the pads.... Can I solder the one end to the circle? Or does the circle not connect to the pad just to the right? Build list calls for "SMC_D" package. Somehow I bought "SMD/SMT."

Does it matter if it's polarized or not?

I finally got around to working on this.... This is some tough soldering! It's extremely difficult with a very fine tip soldering iron and magnifying glass. I thought I had pretty steady hands and good eyes for fine work, but this is near my limit.....
Attachments
Halfway complete CANx
Halfway complete CANx
IMG-1405 (copy).jpg (147.76 KiB) Viewed 3683 times

brentp
Site Admin
Posts: 5955
Joined: Wed Jan 24, 2007 6:36 am

Post by brentp »

Good job so far!

You need a SMC D sized package for the capacitor, and it is polarized. It's a tantalum capacitor, and the polarity matches the band orientation on the PCB. Capacitance isn't critical; 15uF to 33uF should be fine.
Brent Picasso
CEO and Founder, Autosport Labs
Facebook | Twitter

GTIspirit
Posts: 233
Joined: Wed Jan 09, 2013 11:20 am
Location: SE Michigan

Post by GTIspirit »

Components aren't mounted as straight as I'd like, but they should be functional..... I learned a lot from soldering the first board. That's why I ordered three PCB, because ordering 3 from OSHpark didn't really cost any more and gives me a few for practice. :wink:
brentp wrote:
GTIspirit wrote:
* CPOL-USSMCD doesn't lead directly to a "polarized capacitor." Searching for a 10uF "polarized capacitor" yields results for bi-polar/non-polar and general purpose. Which is correct?
you can use a 10uF 1206 ceramic capacitor, 16v. Polarized capacitor not required.
This is what I ordered for 1206 10uF "C1" 1206YD106KAT2A
1206 is too small, will 1812 size work?
Mouser doesn't list a "SMC D" package, what is the equivalent case code?

The pads look smaller than x 0.12" so maybe "case code" 1808 is the right size? Except no product is available with capacitance 10uF - 33uF with that case code. :(

Looking at capacitance range 10uF - 33uF the nearest "case code" is 1812, which is slightly bigger than the pads in the one direction. (If L1 is 1812, 1812 looks a bit big for C1.)

Does polarized matter, or not?

Is there is a recommended C1 capacitor at Mouser.com?

brentp
Site Admin
Posts: 5955
Joined: Wed Jan 24, 2007 6:36 am

Post by brentp »

These are the correct capacitors:

https://www.ebay.com/sch/i.html?_osacat ... d&_sacat=0

https://www.mouser.com/Search/Refine.as ... d+case+smd

Narrow your search for a 10-33uF variant, it's not a critical value.

Good luck!
Brent Picasso
CEO and Founder, Autosport Labs
Facebook | Twitter

Billy C
Posts: 30
Joined: Thu Jan 03, 2013 2:11 am

Post by Billy C »

Sorry to revive a dead thread...

Is the circuit board layout and BOM still available for the canx? The Github link only has firmware in it.
I have an original Race Capture Pro MK1 and would like to start using the can features on it but never
purchased the can board when I got the Race Capture.
If the canx info isn't available anymore, can I use the OBDii adapter for the RCP MK2 and just use the CAN pins from the OBDII plug?
-Billy C

Billy C
Posts: 30
Joined: Thu Jan 03, 2013 2:11 am

Post by Billy C »

Bump,

Anyone have these files still?
-Billy C

brentp
Site Admin
Posts: 5955
Joined: Wed Jan 24, 2007 6:36 am

Post by brentp »

Hi,

The CANx project for MK1 was actually renamed; it is here:
https://github.com/autosportlabs/RaceCapturePro_MK1_CAN

We recycled the CANx name to represent a general purpose mini CAN development board, not related to RaceCapture/Pro MK1 at all.

Sorry for the confusion, and we hope this helps!
Brent Picasso
CEO and Founder, Autosport Labs
Facebook | Twitter

Billy C
Posts: 30
Joined: Thu Jan 03, 2013 2:11 am

Post by Billy C »

Thanks Brent,

I have a friend helping me put a few of these together.

Is there a recommended enclosure for it?
-Billy C

brentp
Site Admin
Posts: 5955
Joined: Wed Jan 24, 2007 6:36 am

Post by brentp »

Hi,

Thanks for the follow up. Sorry, we don't have a recommended enclosure.
Brent Picasso
CEO and Founder, Autosport Labs
Facebook | Twitter

Billy C
Posts: 30
Joined: Thu Jan 03, 2013 2:11 am

Post by Billy C »

I ended up using the hammond 1551HFLBK. With a little bit of trimming it fits like a glove. I can't take the credit for all of this though. A friend helped out with this project.


I'll see if I can embed the pics from google.

Image
Image
-Billy C

Billy C
Posts: 30
Joined: Thu Jan 03, 2013 2:11 am

Post by Billy C »

So I got everything plugged in but the MK1 software doesn't seem to have a tab for mapping. Is there something I'm missing here?
-Billy C

Billy C
Posts: 30
Joined: Thu Jan 03, 2013 2:11 am

Post by Billy C »

I can't seem to get the RCP to even initialize the can module. Is there some other step I need to do here?
-Billy C

brentp
Site Admin
Posts: 5955
Joined: Wed Jan 24, 2007 6:36 am

Post by brentp »

Hi,

The MK1 firmware doesn't have direct CAN mapping in the firmware, but you should be able to use the Lua scripting to send and receive CAN messages.
https://wiki.autosportlabs.com/CAN_Bus_ ... _scripting
Brent Picasso
CEO and Founder, Autosport Labs
Facebook | Twitter

Post Reply